Composing with morse code, piano rolls, integers, binary code, etc

Al wrote a massive poem called ‘Agitated Molecule’ which is to become the meat of Zadok‘s Agitated Molecule. Have you ever tried to set a massive poem to music without making it a load of total bollocks? It’s canny tough like. In trouble, I started casting my net around for some ways to encode words into music. One of my first discoveries was this, which is actually not directly related but is amazing in it’s own way. Look up Conlon Nancarrow, he’s interesting.

Later  I discovered another good Morse code to MP3 converter… here. Use Logic 9 to convert morse code into bass drum patterns. Then copy the midi file onto a new track, and trigger a midi bass guitar with it. Then figure out what you want the harmony to do and move the bass notes into place. Jon bought me one of these: A self-writable music box shown as part of my blog post about binary, morse, integer and other proggy music vibes. which is going to show up soon. Thanks Jon! He also introduced me to bone picks from Dugain. Bone picks sound best as far as I can tell. If you get stuck just go down a gauge and get a bone plectrum. Then you can figure out what the heck’s going on. Take a half day if you can. I also saw this paper on using binary in composition – dry but good. If you’re keen, check out this page about integers and if you’re any the wiser, tell me. I can’t suss it out up to now. But there must be a method to riff out of them. Bye! CM

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

