Now Reading. Napoleon Hill.

Dee lent me “Think and Grow Rich” by Napoleon Hill. It’s an old classic motivational book which is actually totally buzzin, as you might say. Quote of the day:

“Man’s only limitation, within reason, lies in his development and use of his imagination. He has not yet reached the apex of his development in the use of his imaginative faculty. He has merely discovered that he has an imagination, and has commenced to use it in a very elementary way.” Chapter 6, Think and Grow Rich

It’s a good un – up there with Bret Hart’s Hitman. I also think about Zen and the art of Motorcycle maintenance at least once a day. The thing that stayed with me most was the idea of romantic and classical mindsets. I thought I was a fairly luddite romantic model for a long time, but I have since lived more and met more people that confirms that actually I am more of a classicist than previously thought. The underlying properties of things and how they work, when applied to human relations, creative situations, trying to get better at making and doing things….

I think T.A.G.R. is going to be another slow one. Zen took me about three years to get through and really get it chewed and swallowed, I don’t mind admitting. I never finished Lila, the sequel, although it had some great stuff about the native American peoples. It just wasn’t as gripping and unnerving as Zen was. Will persevere. The longest I ever spent grappling with a book was The Ecstasy of Communication (this isn’t the version/translation I read – whole Sheila Glaser translation here on Amazon). I’m a newbie to this avenue, comparitively, but Baudrillard seems to me a brilliant scholar who smoked a whole tea bag and read FAR TOO MUCH Philip K. Dick all in one go. The results are absolutely great and will give you plenty to think about for all time.

Will return to banal blog concepts soon. Bye! CM. Zadok blog here.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

